The hamlet of La Sablière

Building Heritage
Variant
GPS coordinate : 44.224200 3.228623

The hamlet of La Sablière has been built in the 11th century on huge rocks on the edge of the Gorges du Tarn. The place is accessible only by foot or by small boats. Once a hermitage where lived Benedictine nuns, it has been deserted for a long time. In fact, many little hamlets based between the left bank of the Tarn and the cliffs of Causse Méjean were abandoned and forgotten when the road was built on the right bank : inhabitants then moved to the other side of the river.

 

The hamlet of La Sablière is thus an exception. Loving this little piece of paradise, some people decided to revitalise it. In the 1930’s, 11 buildings have been restored and the hamlet became a tourist place. Edouard-Alfred Martel, the « father of modern speleology », who spent a long time to explore the numerous caves of the area, stayed there, and his family (rich industrialists) invested in the confort of the place.

Today the hamlet is a private property. It is nevertheless open to the public at certain times of the year, thanks to the association Essentielle which organises event there.

LA SABLIERE